Compact Awards 2013 - Winners announced

The winners of this year’s Compact Awards have been announced at a ceremony held by Compact Voice last night in Westminster.

The ceremony, attended by over 100 guests, was hosted by Simon Blake OBE, Chair of Compact Voice, and Nick Hurd MP, Minister for Civil Society.

Announcing the winners, Nick Hurd MP, Minister for Civil Society, said:

"The winners of the 2013 Compact Awards all display thoughtful and collaborative partnership working. The winners show just how much can be achieved when people work well in partnership and I would like to congratulate all the winners and shortlisted entrants, and encourage others to look to their impressive example."

Simon Blake OBE, Chair of Compact Voice, said:

"The winners demonstrate how partnerships really do make a massive difference. This year’s nominations were the strongest in my time of judging the Compact Awards and the winners reflect the importance of partnership working in the new policy and commissioning context.

We received nominations from the voluntary and community sector, from local/central government and from right across England – from the north east to the south west. All the shortlisted nominations are underpinned by the principles of the national Compact - now in its 15th year, it continues as the basis for partnerships across all sectors".

The 2013 award categories:

  • Compact Advancing Equality Award
  • Compact Engagement Award
  • Compact Impact Award
  • Compact Innovation Award
  • Compact Leadership Award
  • Local Compact Partnership Award
  • Compact Chair’s Award

Results of the 2013 Compact Awards

A booklet containing all of the shortlisted nominations in full is available to download here.

Compact Advancing Equality Award

Bristol SARI
Awarded for demonstrating an outstanding commitment to equality: through promoting services, activities, or events which help advance equality of opportunity, or actively seek to tackle and challenge discrimination.

Winner: Safer Bristol Crime, Drugs and Alcohol Partnership

Compact Impact Award

Awarded to the group or individual who has used the principles of the Compact to challenge, improve, or develop creative solutions to emerging issues or challenges.

Winner: Voluntary Organisations’ Network North East (VONNE) – Policy and Representation Partnership

Compact Innovation Award

Awarded for developing a new on-going approach to improving or supporting Compact working, particularly for demonstrating creative solutions to difficult situations. 

Winner:  Sunderland Partnership and WARPit

Compact Innovation Award

Highly Commended: DCLG and Greater London Authority – Homelessness Social Impact Bond

Local Compact Partnership Award

Awarded for outstanding commitment to the Compact, with demonstrable on-going outcomes and improvements delivered and communicated for communities

Winner: London Borough of Sutton Compact Group
Compact Engagement Award
tasley close
Awarded for excellence in engagement using the principles of the Compact, ensuring that the design and delivery of services is based on a comprehensive understanding of community need.

Winner: Bridgnorth West and Tasley Partnership, Shropshire
Compact Leadership Award
rev andrew wakefield
Awarded for showing outstanding leadership which has directly led to consistent championing and support for the Compact.

Winner: Rev. Andrew Wakefield

Compact Leadership Award

Highly Commended: Bristol City Council – Strategic Commissioning and Procurement Service


Compact Voice Chair's Award

simon blake Awarded by the Chair of Compact Voice (Simon Blake OBE, pictured left) to recognise excellence in Compact working.

Winner: Merton Compact

Back to top
© Compact Voice 2006–2021 | Charity registration 225922

Charity web development by Pedalo